Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

I absolutely love this recipe and it’s my go-to when I’m craving something sweet! It’s the perfect trifecta: delicious, inexpensive, and easy! I was asked to bring a dessert for a Fall potluck at work but I was very pressed on time, so this seemed like the ideal recipe. 

Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

1422977_10101049605104857_845770066_o

PREHEAT OVEN 350F

Materials

* 1 8 1/2 x 4 1/2 inch loaf pan

* Baker’s Joy

Ingredients:

* 1/4 cup – vegetable oil

* 1 1/2 cups – rice flour

* 1 cup – white sugar

* 1 teaspoon – baking soda

* 1/2 teaspoon – salt

* 2 – eggs, lightly beaten

* 1 cup – mashed bananas (about 2-3 bananas)

* 1 cup – chocolate chips (milk or dark)

Preparation:

1. Grease loaf pan

2. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda and salt.

3. Mix in the oil, bananas and eggs.

3. Stir in the chocolate chips, but do not over-mix.

4. Pour mixture into prepared loaf pan.

5. Bake for 60-75 minutes, or until it passes the toothpick test.

6. Allow loaf to cool in the pan for about 10 minutes.

7. Turn out loaf and allow to completely cool.

This process almost turned into a disaster! I started baking this at 9:30p.m., the night before the potluck. As I am gathering all my ingredients, I realized I didn’t have enough all-purpose flour or enough milk chocolate chips, which is usually what I use to bake this! I could probably have gone to the store to get some, but let’s be honest, I felt super lazy tired. I miraculously found rice flour and dark chocolate chips in my pantry, and my night was saved! Although this could have been a complete failure, it actually turned out to be healthier and gluten-free ( and equally as delicious!).

Enjoy!

Anasignature

Tagged: , , ,

6 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. Mike November 7, 2013 at 1:53 pm Reply

    Be careful when making this!! You will eat the entire loaf!!!!!

  2. Gluten Free Fabulous November 7, 2013 at 5:03 pm Reply

    Yum this looks fantastic!

  3. Sophie33 November 13, 2013 at 4:21 pm Reply

    Did you use normal white rice flour or brown rice flour here? I must make this tasty looking Gf banana chocolate chip bread really soon,…MMMMMMM! 🙂

    • The Edible Complex November 25, 2013 at 12:37 pm Reply

      I used white rice flour, organic from Whole Foods. I actually liked this recipe better with the rice flour, since it added a nice texture! Let me know how yours turn out 🙂

      • Sophie33 November 25, 2013 at 12:55 pm

        😊😊 I Will.

Leave a Reply

