Walnut Toffee

This week, I completely infused my life with Fall! This is what happened:

On Thursday night, I hung an adorable foam ghost on my home door! Public displays of Halloween decorations are an open invitation for Trick-or-Treaters, which means I need to go buy candy ASAP… for the kids…. right?

2013-10-10 20.35.49

On Friday morning, I hung little foam pumpkins on the door of my office!

2013-10-12 13.48.37

On Friday night, I set out leaf-shaped place mats with fun Fall colors on my dining table!

2013-10-12 13.47.54

This morning, I lit a Bath and Body Works candle named “Autumn” to give the house a leafy and fresh scent!

(On a side note, BBW candles are the best! Especially when they go on sale for 2 for$22 AND you happen to have a coupon!)

 2013-10-10 20.39.34

And about an hour ago, I finished making Walnut Toffee! This was quite the adventure. I actually attempted this recipe on Wednesday night and it was a complete disaster. I followed the original instructions verbatim and it did not turn out like it was supposed to. So, I changed the original recipe I found and made it my own! 

Walnut Toffee

2013-10-12 22.53.33

Ingredients:

* 1/2 cup – white sugar
* 1/4 cup – water
* 2 tablespoon – light corn syrup
* 2 tablespoons – unsalted butter
* 1/4 teaspoon – baking soda
* 1/4 teaspoon – salt
* 1 cups – walnuts, chopped

Preparation

  1. Line a baking sheet or a plate with parchment paper.
  2. Using a medium saucepan, combine sugar, water, corn syrup, and butter and bring to a simmer. Cook over moderate heat, swirling the pan a few times, until a light caramel forms. It will be a clear, bubbly mixture for the first 5 minutes, and it will quickly begin to turn golden-caramel. (I cooked it for about 5 more minutes, but rather than basing readiness on the time, base it on the color)
  3. Stir in the baking soda and salt.
  4. Remove the pan from the heat and stir in the walnuts.
  5. Quickly spread the toffee on the prepared baking sheet as thinly as possible.
  6. Let cool completely. Break into pieces and serve. 

I really liked this recipe because it can become a fancy dessert to entertain or a quick and easy snack you munch on while watching a movie! It tastes like Fall! 

So, remember I said earlier my first attempt was a disaster? Here is the comparison!

2013-10-12 22.55.44

^ Top – first attempt. More taffy than toffee.

And since I celebrate my dessert disasters too,

it did not go to waste!

v Bottom – second attempt. Perfect! 

2013-10-12 22.55.04

Enjoy!

Anasignature

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

