Family Flan

Flan! This is a family recipe… 

I remember my grandmother made this on special occasions or on Sundays when we all went over to her house to have lunch together as a family. When I eat this flan, I think back to my childhood and I can’t help but feel joy. It makes me miss my grandmother like nothing else, but overall, it just makes me connect with my happiest memories with her.

My aunt and mom have made this flan ever since my grandmother passed, and even I have made it…but I have to say it doesn’t taste like the one my grandmother made. The recipe is the same, but I think there’s a special touch that grandmothers add to any recipe to it tastes extra delicious!

 

FLAN

320433_10100484589510637_54244184_n

 

PREHEAT OVEN TO 350F

Tray – Any size (round, square, bundt, individual portions)

 

Ingredients:

* 1 14 oz. can – condensed milk

* 1 14 oz. can – milk (use condensed milk can to measure milk)

* 3 – large eggs

* 1 tablespoon – cornstarch

* 1 teaspoon – vanilla extract

* 15 tablespoons – confectioner’s sugar

 

Preparation:  Using a blender, blend condensed milk, milk, eggs, cornstarch, and vanilla extract for 3 minutes

Using a shallow pan, caramelize confectioner’s sugar on low heat.

Pour caramelized sugar into chosen tray, and then pour flan mixture over it.

Pour water in a larger tray than the one you are using for the flan, and place the flan tray into the water (bain-marie/double-boiler style…) Refer to photo below for example:

1569481005_29778b89ef

(Photo credit: www. smittenkitchen.com)

Bake for about 40 minutes or until flan mixture begins to become golden.

Refrigerate overnight.

Once refrigerated, flip it onto a serving platter.

Tips and Tricks:

– Typically, this recipe calls for white sugar, but I’ve found that confectioner’s sugar is easier to caramelize because it’s thinner. It does not alter the taste.

– There is such a thing as over-caramelizing the sugar. If it is over done, it will taste bitter. It should be a light golden color…almost like a honey color. If it’s too brown/dark, you’ve overdone it. 

images

(photo credit: http://www.cheffeddy.com)

– Do not attempt to flip flan onto a serving tray while it’s still warm/hot, as it will break. You will have better success at this if it’s cold. Patience will get you a beautiful-looking flan!

Enjoy!

Anasignature

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

