Cathartic Cheesecake

I cannot believe I’ve never made White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake, considering it’s my all time favorite! It’s an elegant and scrumptious combination of chocolate and fruit – it can’t get more perfect than that!

Baking this was quite an adventure… this morning one of my dogs, in all his excitement over going outside, ran down the stairs, and swept me off my feet. I wish I meant this in the metaphorical sense, but he’s not that great at being poetic. So I, very accurately, slid off 4 steps, and landed on my left foot. Just in case you didn’t understand what happened, I’ll take it frame-by-frame… my left foot slammed 4 times on the edge of each step, until it magnificently landed with one final slam on the floor. Although it hurts and I can’t put weight on it, I don’t think it’s broken. I wrapped it and iced it for now. So baking this cheesecake involved a lot of hopping, a few “ouches” and “ow’s” (and other less delicate words), but it got done! 

For the crust:

* 1 cup –  chocolate graham crackers

* 3 tablespoons – white sugar

* 1/4 cup – melted butter

For the sauce:

* 10 ounces – fresh raspberries

* 2 tablespoons – white sugar

* 2 teaspoons – cornstarch

* 1/2 cup – water

For the batter:

* 2 cups – white chocolate chips

* 1/2 cup – half-and-half cream

* 3 (8 ounce) – packages of softened cream cheese

* 1/2 cup – white sugar

* 3 large eggs

* 1 teaspoon – vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:

Preheat Oven to 325 degrees F, or 165 degrees C.

Crust: Using a food processor, make fine crumbs out of the chocolate graham crackers. In a medium bowl, mix together graham cracker crumbs, 3 tablespoons of sugar, and melted butter. Tightly press mixture into the bottom of a 9×13 inch springform glass pan.

20130918_203829

~

Sauce: In a small saucepan, combine raspberries, 2 tablespoons sugar, cornstarch, and water. Bring to a boil, and continue boiling for about 5 minutes, or until sauce is thick. Strain sauce through a mesh strainer to remove seeds. Set sauce aside.

20130918_204327

~

20130918_210108

~

Batter: For this part, you can either use a double-boiler or a metal bowl over a pan of simmering water. Melt white chocolate chips with half-and-half cream, stirring until smooth.

In a large bowl, mix together cream cheese and 1/2 cup sugar until smooth. Beat in eggs one at a time and once previous egg is well blended. Blend in vanilla and melted white chocolate mixture. Pour half of the batter over the crust. Spoon 3 tablespoons raspberry sauce over batter. Pour remaining batter into the pan, spoon 3 tablespoons raspberry sauce over the top once again. Swirl batter with the tip of a knife to create a very fancy marbled effect.

20130918_205048~

Bake for 55 to 60 minutes, or until filling is set. Let cheesecake cool and then cover with plastic wrap. Refrigerate for 8 hours before removing from pan. Serve with remaining raspberry sauce. You can also decorate it with fresh raspberries.

20130918_210641

And for the deliciously amazing final product:

20130919_190116_resized

I saved the raspberry seeds I strained earlier and mixed them with the sauce again. I thought this gave it a nice texture and balanced the sweetness of the cheesecake with a bit of tartness!

This should speed up my healing process! 

Anasignature

Tagged: , , ,

3 thoughts on “Cathartic Cheesecake

  1. Mike September 19, 2013 at 9:34 pm Reply

    This was so delicious! It was the perfect balance between sweet and tart. I will be sure to request this one again in the future! I am excited about Ana’s Pumpkin Cake!

  2. Anabela September 20, 2013 at 5:25 am Reply

    Parece-me delicioso, vou experimentar….

  3. Pavlova Perfection | September 25, 2013 at 11:19 pm Reply

    […] mint leaf for garnish. I made my Pavlova using raspberries because 1) I had some leftovers from my Cathartic Cheesecake recipe and 2) they were on sale 2 for […]

Leave a Reply

